THE ONLY WAY IS IRONBBRATZ: Episode Nine – New Faces, Old Faces, Mistaken Identities.

In the spirit of always trying to improve, this week I’m presenting a more streamlined edition of TOWI-IB. Maybe I’ll even use a spell-checker!? 

If you actually managed to wade through the relentless content of last week’s episode then you will be aware that we have a whole host of new directors here at Ironbbratz Towers.

This week, in the tradition of ladies first, we’ll be focused on finding out more about two of these new faces;  Becca Thomas and Natalia Palombo.  Next week, we’ll be spending time with the male population of new directors Marc Cairns and Dele Adeyemo (Never to be confused with Dr. Dele).

Each director has kindly agreed to answer seven short questions designed to give us some real insight into their characters and what it might mean for the development of this little tree-house of Merchant City. On that note we now only have ONE STUDIO SPACE looking for an owner. As always you can get in touch with this link.

After the interview section you’ll also find the much anticipated final instalment of Dr. Dele’s crash course in flirting for the socially backward. If there are children in the room you might want to cover their eyes.

Just before we kick off however I have to make a brief apology to some residents in the West-Wing, namely The Sherriff, The Deputy & The Shit-stirrer. Following some controversial implications made in last week’s episode concerning this merry trio, I received an email from Ashley Russell (aka The Deputy) giving a better explanation of the situation:

“Case in point as to why I shouldn’t have allowed myself to be talked onto reading this stuff. Although Alan does come across as “Special”.

How could you have gotten the Dynamic trio goss so wrong, perhaps by focusing your attention to closely on the squeaky wheel. I’m not going to run you through a bullet point presentation of corrections but needless to say you have a lot to learn if you wish to understand the true dynamic. It was me who ordained Alan as “The Sheriff of Ironbbratshire” many moons ago and act as the mediator between the two because generally it takes an alignment of the stars for them to both be present mentally and physically in the one space.

I don’t take this stuff too seriously but thought there was a misrepresentation of what actually goes on over here in the Wild west. A few more stones to be turned!”   

Will I end up in prison for re-printing this? Tune in next week to find out. On with the interviews!!

Introducing…BECCA THOMAS 

1. If you had to compare your personality to a style of dance what would you choose and why?

Oliver! I can’t answer this question…

2. If  you could offer a new Ironbbratz studio holder one piece of advice what would it be?

Do your washing up… I often forget and get told off 😦

3. What was the last memorable thing you dreamt about?

In a rather disturbing turn of events, I’ve started dreaming about Ironbbratz in the past week. Last night I was scrambling to climb up a mountain made of green bin bags with Ms Tawny Kerr, one of our delightful studio holders, rather oddly both of us were wearing plastic vampire teeth and singing…

4. Who did you hero worship when you were 15 and why?

My percussion teacher, James, he had an encyclopedic knowledge of music, was a pretty amazing drummer and, above all he was the most effortlessly cool person I have ever known.

 5. What do you personally hope to see change the most for Ironbbratz in the forthcoming 12 months?

I’m still figuring that out, our list of ambitions is pretty long but mostly I’ve been getting to grips with the day to day stuff. Behind the scenes we’re all still dreaming and we’ll keep you updated on our future plans…  

6. What do you personally hope to see stay the same for Ironbbratz in the forthcoming 12 months?

I would hate to see the Ironbbratz community disappear, I hope that we’re able to help this grow and develop over the coming months, as part of this we will of course be continuing with the events which bring everyone together, including my personal favourite – Cake Thursday, although we need some ideas for this to prevent the potential horror of “Cake Trough”!

7. As a ‘Southerner adopted by the city of Glasgow’ what makes you stay here, rather than return to London?

Glasgow is where I properly grew up and, not to sound too mushy about it, I fell in love with this city in my first year at uni. You know the saying, “the best things come in small packages”? Well, Glasgow has always seemed to me like all my favourite bits of London squished together. I’ve discovered a collection of lively cafes, a series of venues for live music and drinking in the evenings and a whole host of friends to enjoy these, and other activities with. 

Introducing…NATALIA PALOMBO

1. If you had to compare your personality to a style of dance what would you choose and why?

Something in the contemporary realm with some bangin’ auld influences, like street. Actually scrap that, I just remembered I once saw myself embodied in dance: Made Studio: Typographic Ballet. Lots of reasons for this: It’s contemporary, like I just said; it’s fusion (I’m super fused); it makes use of typography (my undergrad is graphic design = typo-geek!); Talib Kweli is narrating (I’m very enthusiastic about cross-disciplinary practice, and I LOVE Talib Kweli); and it’s produced by an organisation much like Ironbbratz, but based in Berlin. 

2. If you could offer a new Ironbbratz studio holder one piece of advice what would it be?

 —————

3. What was the last memorable thing you dreamt about?

I keep dreaming that I’m awake. This is becoming far too regular and super creepy. I dream that it’s exactly that date, that time, I have gone to sleep… but then I wake up and other things happen in between then as I’m waking up I realise I’m back in bed and that is both part of the dream and the awake world. 

 4. Who did you hero worship when you were 15 and why?

Oft, who did I not worship. Probably my friends the most, my friends were so so cool.

5. What do you personally hope to see change the most for Ironbbratz in the forthcoming 12 months?

I’d really like to realise more opportunities for Ironbbratz residents to work collaboratively.

6. What do you personally hope to see stay the same for Ironbbratz in the forthcoming 12 months?

I’d hope very much (but I know there’s no need to) that Ironbbratz remains the friendliest and most creatively diverse studios in Glasgow. I’d like Erasmus to stay well and happy. 

7. As an ‘anthropological obsessive’ you must have an amazing time working for Africa In Motion film festival – but what is the driving obsession behind your interest in directing Ironbbratz?

Actually it has something to do with that link I just directed you to in Q.1. I saw the Typographic Ballet project unfold about a year and a half ago and became really intrigued by Made Studios. I’ve always been really enthusiastic about cross-disciplinary and cross-platform collaboration – not least because I like to dip my toes in lots of waters and I’m also really unclear about my own discipline. MADE define themselves by the diverse range of creative practitioners under their roof and the professional and creative unit they’ve formed through the organisation. Around the same time I heard about Ironbbratz and felt equally excited about the idea of the Ironbbratz community. I firstly joined beautiful Telfer Gallery committee and then became a studio holder. Since I’ve joined I’ve been incredibly enthusiastic about the essence of the studios and also super aware of the potentiality of such a place!

Phew! Thanks for that gals! Boys up next week!

Now for the final instalment of Dr. Dele’s much needed flirting advice!!

Oops – also TOTALLY DON’T forget that the baby in the womb of Ironbbratz aka. The Telfer Gallery has a special opening this Friday, 20th April, to co-incide with Glasgow International. A beautiful exhibition currently being installed by Australian artist Kel Glaister. Whoop!

THE ONLY WAY IS IRONBBRATZ!!!

About Oliver Braid

Oliver Braid is an artist based in Glasgow selected as one of Scotland’s most promising new visual arts practitioners as part of Collective Gallery’s 2011 New Work Scotland Programme and currently based at Ironbbratz Studios. He studied Fine Art at University College Falmouth and Glasgow School of Art, where he completed the Master of Fine Art programme in 2010. Over the past twelve months he has presented solo exhibitions of his work at The Royal Standard, Liverpool; Collective Gallery, Edinburgh; The Mutual, Glasgow and BBC Scotland, Glasgow. Throughout 2012 he is co-hosting a weekly pop-philosophy radio show with the artist Ellie Harrison, The Ellie & Oliver Show, through Culture Lab Radio, Newcastle and is involved with the artist’s therapy group Artist Anonymous.
This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE ONLY WAY IS IRONBBRATZ: Episode Nine – New Faces, Old Faces, Mistaken Identities.

  1. Pingback: THE ONLY WAY IS IRONBBRATZ: Episode Eleven – All About Alan | THE ONLY WAY IS IRONBBRATZ!!

Leave a Reply

